Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-24-2010

scrummaster
Default How much do flip turns help you?

This guy, Duane Dobko always has some interesting statistics about swimming. He did some timing of his flip turns.
http://www.dobkanize.com/how_much_do...turns_help.asp

I'm fairly new to swimming and can't do a flip turn. I've always wondered if it's really worth the time and effort to learn--other than the fact that some say you haven't 'arrived' as a swimmer until you can do one.

Frank
Old 02-24-2010

andreasl33

Interesting. What they don't measure though is the effect air deprivation from the missing breath will have longer term, which could cancel out much of the advantage. While they argue that in short course pools, flip turns are more important, the air deficit will be even more pronouced.
Old 02-24-2010

andreasl33

However, this somewhat related article argues that the penalty for breathing more often is very small:

time lost per breath

This would suggest doing flip turns and taking care the oxygen deficit (if any) by breathing more often during the following length might be a good strategy.

Maybe for that reason, Terry suggests to take two breaths to both sides immediately before the flip turn in his Easy Freestyle DVD.

Last edited by andreasl33 : 02-24-2010 at 07:53 PM.
Old 02-24-2010

PASA

I find flip turns to be good for my back - curling into a tight ball then stretching out again in streamline. Also improves lung capacity over time since you have to hold your breath during the turn through breakout.
Old 02-25-2010

ewa.swimmer

I can do a pretty good flip turn but choose not to. The oxygen deficit is too much for me at my age (53). I am more efficient with a strong open turn then a longer steamline. My streamlining has to be much shorter when I flipturn because I need the air.
Old 02-25-2010

Edd78