Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-22-2009

jan ameling
Default I'm switching back to flutter kick

I've been using a 2-beat kick for about 6 months or so. It feels ok to me but there's just one problem. My kick feels a lot more narrow when I utilize a flutter kick (I don't know whether I use a 4 beat or 6 beat, I'm probably alternating them lol). When I flutter kick my body is a lot more steamlined and I create less drag. When I flutter kick the main focus point is stability. I don't really try getting any propulsion off the kick.

I know that maybe I should keep on developing my 2-beat kick intill it gets better. But I find it a lot more easy just to switch back to my old flutter kick. That's what I'm going to do. At least for now...

Any thoughts on this? Maybe this is something you guys can relate to. Just being curious.

Best regards, Jan

Last edited by jan ameling : 12-22-2009 at 06:39 PM.
Old 12-22-2009
Coach

CoachJohnB

Jan,

Don't feel that you have to use a 2 beat kick. I use a flutter kick too. For my personal swimming, I don't like the 2 beat kick. I don't find that my stroke flows when I try to use it.

I find that a flutter kick gives me a better flow to my stroke, which makes swimming freestyle easier.
Old 12-22-2009

atreides

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJohnB View Post
Jan,

Don't feel that you have to use a 2 beat kick. I use a flutter kick too. For my personal swimming, I don't like the 2 beat kick. I don't find that my stroke flows when I try to use it.

I find that a flutter kick gives me a better flow to my stroke, which makes swimming freestyle easier.