Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Coach Blogs
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-24-2009
Coach

CoachBillL
Default Working with disabled swimmers

I'm a new TI coach who has recently been volunteering with the Pennsylvania Center for Adapted Sports, a great organization which runs programs enabling people with various disabilities to ski, cycle, row, and swim. So far I've worked with one woman who's blind, one who has Friedreich's Ataxia (which affects coordination), and a guy with MS; in each case, the swimmers loved the difference that even small improvements made in their swimming. I hope to post short accounts of this work, and would like to hear from any other teachers who've had experience of this sort, here or at langw@infionline.net.

My hour with Fran, who is blind, was unexpected, and I had done no preparation, so suddenly I had think how to teach without visual demonstrations. And Fran, who is very smart and verbal, quickly told me that visually based terms like "straight" don't convey much to her, so I had to think of other ways to communicate ideal head position. Mostly this meant being even more hands-on than usual: correcting head position with both hands, several times; stretching repeatedly from hand to hand in streamlining; and so on. Fran's memory for things just learned was excellent, so she progressed about as quickly through the first few TI drill as anybody I've worked with. Remarkable person, and a great experience for me.
Old 01-24-2009

shuumai
Send a message via Skype™ to shuumai

Wow, you're lucky to have the opportunity to help people in such a way, and I'm sure they appreciate your contributions.

Ah, the Center is only 14 miles (and one bridge) from where I live.
Old 01-25-2009

naj