Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-18-2016
sixtiesguy

Default Newbie to TI But Exhausted!

Since August, I self-taught the TI technique via watching Terri vids and reading one of the books, and especially watching Shinji Takeurchi You Tube swimming videos and Shinji's translated YouTube videos on efficient and graceful freestyle, to the point I almost memorize Shinji's "script".

...I swim for fitness, and usually just combine indoor swimming at the gym with a spinning class, or cardio kickbox class, or a strength functionality machine....,my problem with my Shinji-on-the-brain freestyle continues to be exhaustion and stamina. I know many who say they can swim breaststroke continuously for 20 minutes and yet after one length of freestyle they have to take a quick breather. That's me. Breast stroke, 20 minutes, no prob...freestyle, 25 yards at a time. Shinji vids says it might be muscle tension, simply not relaxing. Thoughts? Many thx

Sixties Guy
struggling some 60 miles outside of NYC (no TI instructors)
Old 11-19-2016

novaswimmer

Can you define 'exhaustion' more specifically?

In other words, do your muscles get fatigued? Or, do you mean you run out of breath and are gasping after 25 yards?

Breast stroke to me is the more strenuous of the two strokes -- from an energy-expenditure aspect.

So, I'm guessing you are not getting enough air in freestyle? With breaststroke, you breathe every stroke, so every 1 to 3 seconds or so?

And how often are you breathing in freestyle? Every other stroke? Every fourth stroke? Every third?

Edit: Of course your problems could be centered around a seriously inefficient stroke and excess drag. You are compensating by working too hard.

Last edited by novaswimmer : 11-21-2016 at 04:17 PM.
Old 11-20-2016

tomoy