Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-20-2012

jtravis
Default Do you actively lift legs and point toes?

When doing Superman Glide, or I guess anything else, should I consciously be activating my back muscles to try to keep my legs raised up? Should I be actively trying to keep my legs together? What about my toes, should I point them?

I am a complete beginner and am wondering if I am interpreting "stay relaxed in the water" incorrectly. I've been just letting my legs go wherever they naturally go, which means they aren't together, aren't exactly straight, and toes aren't pointed. In my videos where I'm actually swimming, my legs are all over the place, usually bent and quite a ways apart.

Yesterday I did SG quite a bit, and tried pointing my toes, which I think also inadvertently caused me to straighten my legs and keep them together. I could be wrong, but it seemed like I instantly went faster/further. It makes sense that straight, together legs with pointed toes would be more streamlined, but at what cost to relaxation in the water? Any helpful thoughts?

Thanks so much!

Jennifer

Last edited by jtravis : 01-20-2012 at 06:47 AM. Reason: to add name
Old 01-20-2012

arunks

SG is a drill i do daily to improve on my balance.This is a great drill to focus on the proper head position and to get the downhill sensation so that the hips and legs raise.To streamline i point my toes while doing this.You can see Shinji doing this drill.Click here.(Turn on the captions)

Arun

Last edited by arunks : 01-20-2012 at 07:43 AM. Reason: Added link
Old 01-20-2012

andyinnorway

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtravis View Post
When doing Superman Glide, or I guess anything else, should I consciously be activating my back muscles to try to keep my legs raised up? Should I be actively trying to keep my legs together? What about my toes, should I point them?