Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-18-2012

rickardlundberg
Default OK spl & sr, but totally spent after 50 m!

I started swimming a year ago. I've been doing TI for the last 11 months or so and got a tempo trainer 2 weeks ago. Here are some data from a 25 m pool:

SR 1.9 -> SPL 10
SR 1.5 -> SPL 15
SR 1.3 -> SPL 15
SR 1.2 -> SPL 16
SR 1.0 -> SPL 17

That's after a push off lasting a couple of seconds, don't really know how long. So I'm happy with my progress there. The problem is regardless of SR I can only hold it for two laps (50 m), then my heart rate is way up, I'm gasping for air and I have to rest for a minute at least before I can go again. I really wanna be able to swim longer distances but I don't know how to get there!

cheers
Old 01-18-2012

andyinnorway

Firstly, most of us feel like that until we get it, its not fitness, its not your body type. One day you realize you can swim 4 lengths, and then its 8 and then its 64.

Some things to test.

Can you swim slowly and endlessly with a snorkel, finis or otherwise. If so a lot of your issues will be breathing control, which is hard.

Secondly, extreme breathlessness for someone not anxious of the water probably means you are stiffning all your muscles, legs, arms and chest in an effort to try hard and to reduce SPL.

Do this, tighten your quads and calves and then try walking with straight legs, how exhausting is that, its the same with swimming.

Thirdly, How hard does your ¨pull¨ feel. For me, the pull phase feels no harder than swinging a tennis bat at a ball and gets lighter every month. I remember 6 months ago it was more like do a lat pull of 40kgs as I put all my efforts into reducing my SPL.