Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-17-2011

just jules
Default Burning calories vs. building efficiency - how would you respond?

I'm still pretty new to TI, but I'm enjoying the process and the results so much. Fellow swimmers at our small community pool sometimes notice and comment (positively) on my form and efficiency (due to TI!) , so I've had opportunities to recommend this website and loan out my "Easy Freestyle" DVD. But I was stopped cold by this comment today: "You're already skinny. I don't want to become more efficient because I want to burn more calories in my workout." How would you (gently but "scientifically") respond? I want to sort out this issue in my own mind, even if this discussion never comes up again. Thanks!
Old 06-17-2011

haschu33

Quote:
Originally Posted by just jules View Post
But I was stopped cold by this comment today: "You're already skinny. I don't want to become more efficient because I want to burn more calories in my workout." ...
It's up to the individual. There is no law or force that tells you to swim efficiently. A lot of people swim and don't care about efficiency, style, time, grace, easiness etc. And it is true: with a bad style you can have a marvelous workout in a very short time - it takes so much energy to swim inefficiently ;-)

I personally never evangelize people or comment on their swimming or argue about it. It's their point of view and they have the right to have whatever point of view, be it good or bad or completely stupid. Basically not my business. There is no question of right or wrong.

You can comment that you are lazy and already skinny so you have no choice but to swim efficiently ;-)
But I wouldn't argue...

Last edited by haschu33 : 06-17-2011 at 06:31 AM.
Old 06-17-2011
Banned

Lawrence