Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-07-2016

novaswimmer
Default Your Aquatic Signature

Even though I am a newbie swimmer, after I read this short article (and watched a few videos) about Coach Bill Boomer's approach to assigning strokes/events/distances to competitive swimmers based partly upon their 'aquatic signature', I found I was in total agreement. How many coaches do this with their swimmers?

Even early on in swimming lessons, might it not be helpful to assess the student's aquatic signature and teach them maybe breaststroke first, instead of freestyle, if their body type happens to be better equipped to perform that? Or at least work on specific drills that help them overcome a poor signature?

Boomer says: "At the moment when you take a breath and give yourself to the water and it neutralizes you, you end up in a certain position. That position is unique to you and nobody else. And once you’re in your aquatic signature position, it can be determined whether you’re best suited for freestyle, butterfly, backstroke or breaststroke."

I am paraphrasing here: "The more horizontal a swimmer is in the water, the more favorable the signature will be. Establishing and maintaining a proper aquatic line, especially as speed increases, can take a lot of energy for the unfavorable signature. The key is finding an event that is sympathetic to your posture and signature."

Please read this over and let me know your comments. Maybe this is common knowledge. I mean, every sport has it's own preferred body types.

http://blog.pennlive.com/patriotnews...rs_scient.html