Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Backstroke
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-02-2009

ny1301
Default should I feel gliding in backstroke?

I have been studying TI for 3 months. I was a self-taught breast stroke swimmer before TI.

Though I started TI with backstroke and spent most time on it, I can not feel any gliding during swim, and this seems making breathing difficult. On the other hand, with breast stroke or free style, I can delightly watch tiles below me gliding backwards (and enjoy it) while I am relatively 'still' at my longest length, and feel water support when I want to breath.

I think in breast stroke or butter fly, I can push my chest in the water, and wait for water to push my head back to surface, but in back stroke, I don't know what I can do. I already have water around my google, cannot go deeper to get the 'push back'. The situation is I have to keep kicking so that my nose can always be above water. I cannot feel the peaceful period of gliding I feel in other strokes... any thoughts? thanks!
Old 01-02-2009

ny1301

I spent 90% of time on backstroke, but seems my free style is better than back stroke now! I must have missed something. another question: at what period do you start inhale and exhale? I guess I should exhale when I life the recovery arm, and inhale when stroke?
Old 01-03-2009

daveblt