Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-12-2011

cm67
Default time in pool?

How often do you go to the pool and how long on average do you stay there?

Also, I am a beginner to TI and was wondering how much time do the expert swimmers on here spend on there technique whilst at the pool...do you guys still practise drills regularly?
Old 07-12-2011

sinker

Quote:
Originally Posted by cm67 View Post
How often do you go to the pool and how long on average do you stay there?

Also, I am a beginner to TI and was wondering how much time do the expert swimmers on here spend on there technique whilst at the pool...do you guys still practise drills regularly?
CM
I go to the pool 3 or 4 times a week and swim about an hour.

I will answer the second part of your post even though it is addressed to "expert swimmers".
One hundred percent of my time in the pool is spent on technique. Drills occupy about the first ten minutes. The rest of the time is spent swimming freestyle, but always with a particular focal point concentration. Patient lead hand---really, really, really relax head----relaxed hand pointing to bottom of pool----use rotation to fulcrum over vertical catch paddle, rather than pull and slip hand through water---- get full extension on lead arm---etc.

If you are serious about learning TI, never go to the pool and just go through the motions without a specific purpose.
Old 07-13-2011

cm67

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinker View Post
CM
I go to the pool 3 or 4 times a week and swim about an hour.

I will answer the second part of your post even though it is addressed to "expert swimmers".