Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-20-2013

sinker
Default Get a grip

I have been chasing the elusive holding water grip ever since I started learning to swim with TI 4 1/2 years ago. Had an interesting phenomenon present itself a few weeks ago.
Background---Needed a change from 100% freestyle, so started interspersing breast stroke & backstroke. Got the TI breaststroke dvd and I now swim a couple laps freestyle, then 25 yards backstroke then 25 yards breaststroke. The change of pace is refreshing.
As to the backstroke, I did no research on correct TI or anyone else's backstroke technique. I just decided to wing it and do my own thing sort of based on TI principles as I know them.
I do a 2 beat backstroke as follows---Right arm recovers straight up and straight back entering water as silently as possible. Right elbow bends forming catch, at which time I flick right foot (perhaps more of a foot raise than flick), which initiates a definite rotation. This was where the incredible part happened, with almost no mental focus on my part. My paddle (elbow to fingertips) purchased a grip on the water seemingly automatically, and followed my rotation over with practically zip arm or shoulder pulling. I immediately began backstroking down the whole lane, stroke after stroke, using nothing but the power provided by my rotation. It was akin to paddling a canoe or rowing a boat-----set your paddle or oars in the water and using your core, pull your craft past that point.
Holy crap---here is what I had been looking four years for, and it appears spontaneously when I try this backstroke. If only I could do this freestyle.
But wait, something interesting is happening.