Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-03-2012

PlumFlower
Default Superman Glide

Encouraged by Terry's long post on balance and streamline in SS thread, I begin my pool session by doing several SG.

Many of us have seen Shinji's YouTube video showing how he does it. As you can see, he is able to glide very far without hip dropping and leg dropping. However, no matter how hard I try, my legs sink in a matter of seconds. I really have tried my best - placing both hands in front, streamlining, keeping head down etc. Does any of you have the same problem? Is there a guidance saying for example "able to glide XXX seconds before sinking showing you have a good enough balance"?

I've registered a private coach session with Shinji in two weeks. I am so excited about that!
Old 01-03-2012

ALMD

Hi

I am new in TI, but well beyond the SG.

the thing that worked for me was to just glide with your outstretched arms, completely relaxing your head and neck, and like TI DVD says, you should start to feel the water lifting your body , if you maintained yourself in this relaxed position...you should float longer than just few seconds ...I used to glide short distances, but as I am getting more relaxed in the water, I glide further , and I stay floating longer...

Try relaxing when you glide and dont try very hard...just let water lifts your relaxed body as you glide ...
Old 01-03-2012

PlumFlower

Thanks ALMD. I guess when I try hard and eagerly want to float, I forget to relax. I will focus on relaxing next time. Thanks.
Old 01-04-2012

ernewill

You have probably had your coaching session by now. You will have to tell us about it.