Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > How To Swim A Mile
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-20-2009

madinjapan
Default Is it possible I got this much better from just watching Terry?

I'll start with an honest statement; I'm not into drills. Last year I couldn't swim front crawl for toffee; two lengths and I'd be chucking up a lung. Then I came across TI on the internet and bought the book and DVD. I started practicing the first few drills, but to be frank I was getting some strange looks down at the pool (I live in Japan, so being a foreigner makes you stand out as it is).

I decided I'd just try to copy how I saw Terry swimming from the DVD and from the perpetual motion video on youtube. The very next week I was up to 20 lengths. Things have continued like that and literally now I'm at the point where the tedium of swimming up and down stops me, rather than tiredness (3.2km in a 25m pool).

I check this site often but I haven't registered so far, I've been doing TI for about 6 months now. I've had a few compliments in the pool from friendly Japanese people, but today a swimmer actually sat at the end of my lane while I was swimming and studied my swimming style.

So, to my question! Without practicing all the drills and from just watching how other people swim TI (including the TI guy from japan) can i have become that good or is it just my fitness that has increased? I actually imagine the lake scene of Terry with the music in the background while im swimming, that seems to keep my motion, and actions very fluid.

One thing that I'm not particularly good at is bilateral breathing. I can do it, but when i turn to my "vanilla" side I feel like im sinking a little. If i stay on "chocolate" side then no problem.

anyway. let me know your thoughts.
David
Old 08-20-2009

splashingpat
Default chocolate and vanilla....you doing something different

Quote:
Originally Posted by madinjapan View Post