Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-06-2011

Kjones0831
Default Shoulder pain

I have been nursing what seems to be a SLAP lesion in my left shoulder. I am new to swimming, and to TI. Despite the shoulder problem, I have been using the Easy Freestyle video to guide my practice sessions...with some success. I now notice a drastic difference between the two sides with respect to range of motion and control during recovery. I have performed several months of rehab on my shoulder with much improvement, but I am now considering surgery to repair the injury.

I would seriously like to attend a Freestyle Workshop, but was wondering if now would be a good time to do so? I wonder if having someone tweak my stroke might provide the ability to swim/train with less pain...until I decide whether or not to see the ortho this fall? Or would I be better served to wait and learn with a healthier shoulder...provided the surgery was successful??

Thanks!
Old 05-06-2011

steve0732

I had shoulder pain and a limited range of motion before I started swimming. I could barely get my arms out of the water in freestyle and my shoulders hurt after each session. I do not know if my injuries are similiar to yours but my range of motion increased dramatically and the pain is gone.

I iced my shoulder after each session at the beginning and swam every other day or more to allow for any residual swelling to go down.

Let pain be your guide to how often and how long to swim. If you don't see improvement then go see the doctor.

Steve
Old 05-07-2011

KenInCa

KJones,

Having a SLAP repair comes in many flavors as you probably been told or looked into. Most surgeries allow for more motion and most return to active lifestyles. Of course the more work they have to do, then the more you'll have to work on recovery.