Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-13-2009

BeijingSwimmer
Default Converting Superman Balance to Dynamic Balance

I am new to distance swimming and have been training myself using the TI books and DVDs for the past couple of months. I have not been able to find any sweet spot on my back where I can keep one arm out of the water - I think I am a sinker and have tried to just move on to some of the propulsion drills (like zipper-switch) and then just rest in between all the way on my back.

The other day I saw Coach Shinji's superman glide video and couldn't believe the balance he had in the water - I tried to accomplish that type of balance myself in the pool.

While I couldn't replicate the glide (my legs just drop behind me immediately) I found that with a light flutter kick, my legs came up and I felt remarkably balanced! It felt incredible, but as soon as I move to take a breath or try to slowly stroke or rotate, I feel my whole body sinking and coming out of balance.

Is there some way to translate this front balance into balance on my back (sweet spot) or into the drills? I feel like I am close to actually feeling balanced in the water, but I'm not sure how to convert the flutter kick superman glide into a dynamic balance. Any advice would be appreciated!
Old 01-13-2009

ny1301

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeijingSwimmer View Post
I am new to distance swimming and have been training myself using the TI books and DVDs for the past couple of months. I have not been able to find any sweet spot on my back where I can keep one arm out of the water -
Is that goal too far away for a beginner? Even the coaches on the DVD had water coming to their faces when they held their arms up too high. I rember the DVD suggested to raise one arm up to 30 degrees, then speed up to finish the recovery. Just hold an arm there might be too much.
Old 01-13-2009

madvet