Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-11-2011

chadhartley2004
Default I am a Sinker...No really, I am.

I have been practicing the TI way now for a couple months and have improved considerably. I even have a "coach" that teaches 99% the TI way. BUT, I am a sinker. And yes, I really think I am one (I know everyone does)....but REALLY! I am perfectly level horizontally but my entire body sinks. I can't avoid it. I can skate, superman float....everything...and yet within a matter of seconds I still hit the bottom of the pool at the exact same time from head to toe. I think this is balanced...IS IT NOT? Its like inserting a 5'10" steel I-Beam into the water and watching it hit the bottom of the pool FLAT. It makes is very difficult to breath when I am atleast a foot underwater all the time. Finding "sweet spot" is impossible...IF i could float on my back this would be a lot easier wouldn't it? Should I gain some extra FAT so I am more buoyant?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
A disgruntled aspiring Triathlete
Old 02-12-2011

jeetkevdo

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadhartley2004 View Post
Should I gain some extra FAT so I am more buoyant?
How lean are you?
Old 02-12-2011

chadhartley2004

Pretty lean i guess....I have way to much muscle mass i think is the problem. I have been trying diligently to lose the muscle mass, but its not coming off as fast I would like. It also prevents good range of motion in my shoulders. BUT, I have scene other triathletes just as "bulky" or dense as I am and they seem to be FLYING through the water without any perceived effort. Whats the difference. I am assuming that our body density is similar....but I could be wrong.
Old 02-12-2011
Coach

CoachSuzanne

What if your lungs are full of air?
Coach of 5 time USA Triathlon Triathlete of the Year, Kirsten Sass
Steel City Endurance, LTD
Fresh Freestyle

Old 02-12-2011

flppr