Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-20-2010

anjaswim
Default legs either frog or seaweed

Hello,

I've been practicing for a few months now (thanks for the last tips, they were very helpful)

I'm struggling with my legs. I just can't get the right feel for them. I realized that I do more like a breast stroke kick (knees too much bent). (I guess that comes from 35 years of breast stroke and never really doing any free style.)

So I have started to not use my legs at all, just to get a feel for how my legs and back move while I stroke. What happens is that then I seem to drag my legs behind me like a happy piece of seaweed, right below the surface but I still can't really figure out how to use them a bit more productively. It's quite amazing that I can still swim with such ease, since i have no upper body strength to speak of (and I could never do free style at all before learning a bit of TI). but I'm of course slow and my legs get a bit bored (and it must look very silly). And most importantly I want to get it right!!

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

-anja
Old 04-21-2010

daveblt

By not using your legs to get a feel of how they should move as you swim you have made the first step in the right direction . To help keep the legs and hips light and floating right along behind you also try :
rolling only enough to clear each shoulder as you roll and not to stacked shoulders . Over rolling can make your legs splay outward to try to compensate for being unbalanced
Lean in to the water always as you swim.
Look down keep your head in a neutral position and relaxed
Keep the legs stretched out without to much knee bend
spearing in to the water with hand below elbow

Dave
Old 04-21-2010

atreides

Quote:
Originally Posted by anjaswim View Post
Hello,

I've been practicing for a few months now (thanks for the last tips, they were very helpful)