Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Favorite Practices and Sets
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-08-2011
Head Coach

terry has disabled reputation
Default Another "Organic" Tempo Trainer Set

A very simple Tempo Trainer set I did yesterday may serve to illustrate how one can use it. I'm in Tokyo until Feb 12 and swimming at the 25m pool - Skyfit - that TI runs here. Same pool in which Shinji's viral internet video was shot for those of you who have seen it.

As I approach my 60th birthday I'm focused on pursuing goals outside my comfort zone. My comfort zone since age 15 has been distance freestyle, so now I'm working on trying to do best times in 50-100-200 in the other three strokes as well as free.

I know my weakness in backstroke isn't Stroke Length. It's slow tempo. So I decided to do a series of 25s Backstroke with the TT.

I have no experience swimming 25m backstroke repeats so I didn't know what SPL goal to set. I do know that a very comfortable tempo for me in freestyle is 1.25, which means it would probably be slightly difficult in backstroke. So I swam a 25 back @ 1.25 and counted strokes. As on free I allowed 3 beeps on pushoff. RIght away I found it much harder to pushoff,surface and begin stroking smoothly in 3 beeps. It was very hard to synchronize my first stroke with 4th beep

I had to rush my first stroke a bit to 'catch up to the beep' then it took me a few strokes to settle down. By the time I reached the other end I'd taken 18 strokes.

I just kept swimming repeats # 1.25 until I figured out the pushoff/first-stroke timing. Once I did I stroked more efficiently from Stroke #1 and reached the other end in 17 strokes, instead of 18.

From there I decided to increase tempo by only .01 sec - to 1.24. I swam 4 x 25 at that tempo, testing my ability to keep completing the lap in 17 strokes.