Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-18-2011

arunks
Default Need advice on doing 50m freestyle

Hi All,

I am a newbie in TI.After nearly 4months I think I am able to do several laps of 25 m with a pause for 2-3 min between laps with Ok form, but when I do 50 m, I feel somewhere midway through I am not able to continue either due to loss of form, lack of breath.. I go to sweetspot and start again.
Any suggestions on how to complete the 50 m without stoppage and discomfort.

Thanks
Arun

Last edited by arunks : 11-18-2011 at 06:19 AM.
Old 11-18-2011

tomoy

My usual thoughts at this stage are to relax, slow down, ignore how you must think you look. Let me go find a similar thread I remember another swimmer posted from this summer.

Relax every muscle, shoulders, wrists, hands, neck. Think more about gliding like a long-hulled sailboat, and less about pulling yourself forward. Remove all the images you have of fast swimmers, or how you want to look. You'll get there in 6 months or so. But the more you focus on the smooth technique, minimize the noise in your stroke and kick, the less tension your muscles will exert and the less blood, oxygen and air you'll need.

Once you can swim slowly, non-stop for say 400Y, then you can turn your mind to moving faster.

-- ah, here we go... get something to drink, get comfortable, it's 20 page thread! Full of good advice from many who have been exactly where you are today. --
http://www.totalimmersion.net/forum/...ead.php?t=2275

Last edited by tomoy : 11-18-2011 at 07:15 AM. Reason: including referring link
Old 11-18-2011

Alex-SG

Hello Arun,

I think the fundamental question is: how is your technique right now?
Are you Balanced? Are you streamlined? Do you have a coordinated stroke propelling you forward?

A simple question would be what is your SPL (Strokes Per Lenght, 25m) and at what Stroke Rate (SR).