Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-17-2014

mjensen2k
Default I think I can, I think I can...

Hi! My name is Mike, I'm a newbie here and I THINK I can do this. :-)

Quick history: I played speed sports when younger, four sports a year. I never swam though. I was allowed to cry and quit the YMCA swim lessons and never really learned. As an adult (>40yo) I was overweight and not very active.

Over the last couple of years I've begun training for and "competing in" endurance sports. I have a few marathons under my belt, the Dopey challenge, a few Ragnar relays. Clearly running focused. I do so by understanding and training my aerobic threshold and put my race plans together based on fuel consumption and sustainable paces. I'm not fast, but I can keep going and going and I have more fun than anyone on the course!

Last year (age 41) I got a few swim lessons and fought my way through a few sprint triathlons. Now I'm going after an Ironman!

I'm also an engineer. So I think. A lot. One of my very best assets is my ability to assess a situation, tear it down to its essential parts and fix it. Unfortunately, thinking while swimming tends to make me sink.

I've been working on TI for the last month and a half or so and have found great improvements in my balance and stroke. But my comfort/relaxation is very slow to come along.

I am trying to 'solve that problem'. I do drills and switches at such a slow pace that I know my body doesn't need to go anaerobic and need all that air to convert fuel. But I'm still huffing and puffing as many others have struggled with here.

After that long intro, here's some self analysis and ways I am thinking about fixing it. I welcome all feedback!