Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Breaststroke
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-02-2011

chaceakers
Default body dolphin versus frog kick (whip)

I have been swimming the breast and butterfly for a few months now and I noticed that my breaststroke is faster with the dolphin than the frog kick. I feel like I get propulsion from my legs moving down and moving up. The frog kick just seems to create drag.

Is one kick better than the other? Is it legal to use the dolphin in competition?

I appreciate any feedback.

Thanks
Old 03-02-2011

Grant

In Masters swim meets you can use either dolphin or whip kicks in the Fly races, but only the whip in the Breast races.

may we swim with ease at the speeds we choose.
Old 03-03-2011

Richardsk

If you don't intend to swim breaststroke in competition then breast arms and fly legs is a very agreeable way to swim. In my own case, I'm faster with the frog kick but then I've been a breaststroker for more than sixty years and have only recently learned the dolphin kick. I'm pretty slow with both, actually.

It's a good idea to make your whip kick as similar to the dolphin kick as possible without making it illegal, but of course if you're just doing it for fun it doesn't matter at all which kick you use.
Old 06-07-2011

solothesailor

Watching the video clip as referred to by terry in another thread on Breaststroke breathing:
Quote:
Originally Posted by terry View Post
. . .
Watch this highly revealing underwater video of Kitajima. Notice . . .
there was a brief information bubble stating that dolphin kicks have now been allowed since/after the 2004 Olympics. is that correct or was I misinterpreting something?