Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-21-2016
lukaszp

Default My body starts sinking after 20 minutes of practicing - why?

Hi guys,

I'm very new here and I started practicing TI in the summer. Although I think I got the basics, I must admit I am still very far from feeling that I can swim effortlessly. My biggest problem is breathing. I've never been tought how to do it well, I only learned it on TI classes.

The problem I have is that I have strange feeling that all my trainings start really good and then, after 20-30 minutes of practices I feel like it's getting worse and wors. My intuition is that it should be the other way around, but it isn't.
When I do my first lanes I feel like I don't sink that much into bottom as later. I think i don't have much problems with keeping the right (flat) position. After time, I feel like my body is just sinking more than it was at the beginning. This makes me struggle to breath well, which makes the snoball effect - then everything starts to go wrong.

I tried several times to do larger breaks - even 2-3 minutes to normalize my breath and concentrate again, but it doesn't work for me.

Does any of you see anything I could be the reason of my feeling?
Thanks a lot guys!
Old 01-21-2016

tomoy

It's hard to guess without video, but the most likely issue is that some muscles are getting tired over time. That decreases your ability to hold your vessel together properly. When the vessel gets sloppy, you sink.

Examples would be the posture turning to a limp noodle. Leading hand patience might start pulling too soon. Tired shoulders might start leaking their tension into your neck so you might start lifting your head which can cause sinking. You might start over-rotating as the stabilizing muscles get tired and that will cause sinking.