Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-12-2015

RXL
Default Increased stroke rate

My stroke rate is currently around 64 spm and someone mentioned that this seemed too slow. I am 69" tall and take approx 18 strokes per 25 metre lengths.
I figured that to increase stroke rate then I would have to obviously move my arms faster through the water but surely this would make my hands slip rather than get a good hold on the water for propulsion, what am I missing as it is not currently making any sense to me. Please be gentle I am still a relative beginner!
Old 08-12-2015

WFEGb

Hello RXL,

WOW
that's a starting point I'm jealous! (Can't even think about as long time goal.)

With SR of 0,94s (who will call it slow?) it's faster than Terry who works to get used of 1.0s for longer swims. With 18SPL you're still in the middle of your GZ. And 1:19min/100m will be a dreamtime for most (at least many) readers.

Seems to me it might be hard to find some FPs to improve measurable.

Go on! And best regards,
Werner
Old 08-12-2015

Zenturtle

imcreasing strokerate means faster arm and kick rate and faster roll rate.
Everyting has to move faster.
If your traction on the water is good, the extra slippage is small.
Old 08-12-2015

descending

Quote:
Originally Posted by RXL View Post
My stroke rate is currently around 64 spm and someone mentioned that this seemed too slow. I am 69" tall and take approx 18 strokes per 25 metre lengths.
I figured that to increase stroke rate then I would have to obviously move my arms faster through the water but surely this would make my hands slip rather than get a good hold on the water for propulsion, what am I missing as it is not currently making any sense to me. Please be gentle I am still a relative beginner!