Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-03-2010

weinzwei
Default Working Hard For Speed

Hi everyone, i have a question regarding work and speed. I have been practcing TI for almost 2 years. TI is great. I have overcome many swimming issues, however i never seem to get any faster. I am starting to think that i am not swimming hard enough. What i mean is that if i practice cycling or running i train hard on some days and easy on others. In swimming i always seem to pull just as hard everyday. I never seem to work any harder. I see some good swimmers swim about 16-17 min 1500m and can't figure out if they are swimming hard(effort) or are swimming like i do very calmly and easy). If i try to swim hard i take a lot of strokes and don't seem to get much faster because i usually get tired before i have swam very far. I Understand streamlining , etc . but should i pull harder and have greater turnover. Right now i am slow and easy and have swam for up to an 1 hour and 1/2 non stop in open water. Never tiring. Should'nt i get tired? I get tired after a 3 hour moderate pace ride. or a 2 hour run. I recently observed Jodie Swallow swim. She swims an avg of 1:15 100 meters and avg 20+ strokes per 25M she can swim at this pace all day??? Thoughts on how to get faster.

Thanks,

Jon
Old 03-03-2010
TI Coach

CoachEricDeSanto

Jon,
I would not put your focus on harder. That causes inefficiencies to creep into your stroke. You will likely put more force on the water, but not by trying to.

Instead, get a tempo trainer. Do sets like:
25s descending 0.02 per 25 as far as you can without adding a stroke.
10x50 descend 0.02 per 50 again hold tempo when you have to increase stroke count.
3x200 descending
The set is less important than the mentality. Always work at the intensity that requires 100% mental focus to hold.