Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Swim Your Way to Health
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-21-2014

Jennig
Default Swimmers ear

I just started swimming three weeks ago. I am 41 and never did before because I couldn't breathe under water. I would sputter and cough and never had a lesson because I just thought I could never learn to breathe properly. But I was just diagnosed with fibromyalgia and I'm a personal trainer so this was devastating. I am determined to remain physical. Now I love swimming. In three weeks I've gotten to the point I can do twenty laps in Olympic size pool in twenty minutes. Idk if that is is pathetic or not but I don't care, I am thrilled and really proud of myself. Problem: I keep getting really painful swimmers ear. I tried two different Mack's ear plugs, the screw ones and the silicone ones that you form into ball and fit into ear. I have tried after swim drying ear drops
And drying ears with towel and then blow drier. Any other ideas? I can't give up
Swimming but the pain is really bad.
Old 09-21-2014

Joern.pellum

I have the same problem. Carefully use of a swab after swimming solved the problem, but consult your doctor to be sure you have no earwax, witch can worsen the condition.
Old 09-21-2014

Jennig

Thank you for your response, but my doctor told me emphatically never to stick a q-tip in my ear under any circumstances. He recommended shaking my ears out and using a towel. Not working. I'm getting swimmers ear back to back. And ironically an inner ear infection in the middle of the swimmers ear brief healing point, which my doc said had nothing to do with swimmers ear or my swimming. He even said I could go swimming with the inner ear infection. So I did. (This was last week) so now while on the antibiotics for the inner ear infection the swimmers ear is back
Old 09-21-2014

Joern.pellum