Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-12-2008

mjm
Default 2 New Focal Points

1. Keep lead arm in front of shoulder when rolling to breathe.

I've been doing TI drills for two years. Alas, sometimes mindlessly. Lately, I noticed when skating on my left side that when I roll to breathe my lead (left)arm moves toward the center, making a "C" and actually crosses over my midline. When I swim and breathe to my right side the same thing happens--that lead arm bends toward the middle. As a consequence I swim somewhat crooked and take at least one more stroke per length.

2. Keep head tracking in a straight line.

Motor boats track in a straight line--swaying the bow side-to-side would greatly impede forward progress. I know my head moves side-to-side, sometimes more, sometimes less. Lately, I've concentrated on keeping my head tracking on a straight line. For me it's hard--both my head and tracking it correctly. Some swimmers seem to do this effortlessly but rotating around a tracking fixed axis feels so more efficient. Even backstroke feels better with a still head. --mjm
Old 11-12-2008

shuumai
Send a message via Skype™ to shuumai

Maybe you have some tight muscles. Perhap try stretching your chest. Here is a stretch that I do. http://www.healthline.com/blogs/exer...neck-pain.html

Variations can be done in a doorway, using one or both arms simultaneously. Just lunge into the doorway a little when using two arms.

Another stretch that I like to do is pressing my hands against the top front of a doorway and leaning into it. Since I'm not that tall, I have to tip-toe.
Old 11-13-2008
Head Coach

terry has disabled reputation

MJM