Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-30-2010

sathishm
Default Should I continue my workout with Masters Team as usual as my Free Style workshop is

Should I continue my workout with Masters Team as usual as my Free Style workshop is on Sep 18th, or skip for a month???

I am new to swimming; I started with group swimming classes in 2009. I picked up the book Easy free Style on Jan 29th, 2010 that changed everything, and the ignition happened. Freestyle workshop was not available in Los Angles when I want to take it in February, so I took regular swim classes and used the DVD, and joined the Master Swim in April.
My Swimming is improved, and I practice the TI drills when I am not swimming with Masters.
My Masters team doesn’t know anything about TI. My TI and swimming got better in last month as I did more practice of TI with Tempo trainer.
With Masters I do work out. Swimming on my own I work on improvement. Swimming alone also I am enjoying as I work on the technique and tempo.
For September skip the Master as I am close the workshop? Or it doesn’t matter.

Last edited by sathishm : 08-30-2010 at 08:43 PM. Reason: Work shop date missed in the edit.
Old 08-30-2010

LennartLarsson

Don't worry about the workshop, just continue to swim. I am sure you will have to change a few things, that your coaches will notice at the workshop, but should it be that you already have less efficient habits, they will not disappear by resting. Swim and be happy!

Lennart
Old 08-30-2010

sathishm

I will be swimming even without working with Masters Team. With Masters Team it is more of a work out. Swimming on my own it is practice the technique and work with tempo trainer.
I am 5'6'' tall.
With tempo trainer I am doing workouts
1.30 tempo– I am doing 25 yards in 13 strokes.
1.40 tempo - I am doing 25 yards in 12 strokes 50% of the time and 13 strokes in 50% of the time.