Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-07-2018
devadigs

Default Sinking Issue

Learned swimming when I was 40. I struggled with breathing until I started TI method about 6 months ago.

Main issue -Sinking

History
I have dense boned so I sink quickly unless I am kicking. Also, I do not have have ankle flexibility reduces my forward movement.

My swim story
I started my TI journey and I was encouraged with all the balance drill. I still kicked a lot to keep my afloat. About two months ago, my TI instructor talked about 2 beat kick and swimming from hips. I realized that I used a lot of my shoulder to propel forward.

When I started training on this one, I hurt my back (old injury) and then my sinking issue became very prominent. I have to say to a point of frustration. I started using fins just to get some movement in the water. When I remove the fins, all the techniques are lost as I get the feeling that I am a foot below the water. Especially when I have to breath, I have to get a slight lift to get air.

Help...
Old 03-07-2018
Mushroomfloat

Everyone can float level without kicking
practice this, when your achieve final position just start swimming from there never losing that position, take a few stokes and go back to the pencil float to reafirm position then continue.

https://youtu.be/YwOHzq8Qgso
Old 03-09-2018

novaswimmer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mushroomfloat View Post
Everyone can float level without kicking

https://youtu.be/YwOHzq8Qgso
I don't agree. Every body has a different aquatic signature and different centers of gravity and buoyancy. Especially thin men with skinny or dense legs have a hard time. That isn't to say we can't all learn to swim. It just takes some adjustments and practice.

So not everyone can float level without kicking, nor do they need to. But we need to be able to swim as level as possible.