Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-31-2008

joeintx
Default Counting laps

How do you all keep an accurate count of how many laps you've gone? I'm just learning and since I'm concentrating on different things, I sometimes tend to lose count! I've thought about keeping some sort of "counter" at the edge of the pool.
Old 01-01-2009

roates
Default Counting Laps

I use a SportCount 90040.
Although this is the basic model I'd give it a 5 star rating.
It fits comfortably on the first finger. Very robust, efficient and allows you to click/change underwater - which means no stopping!
My wife and I have had no problems with ours, been using them for at least 6 months and we've clocked up a lot of lengths between us. Even given it as presents.

Here's the website
http://www.sportcount.com/products.php

Available in the UK from
http://www.activeplanet.co.uk

Happy New Year to All
Roger Oates
Old 01-01-2009

naj

I'm going to have to look into that gadget to count laps. From my persepective if your new to swimming (as am I) it seems wiser to concentrate on technique and making sure your TI freestyle is right. If you start worrying about how many laps you do you might have that as the goal rather than solid technique and having fun. Don't worry over time you'll be up to 15oo meters before you know it.

Last edited by naj : 01-01-2009 at 12:16 PM.
Old 01-01-2009

Rhoda

I always lose count of my laps, unless I say the number out loud. Even then I can lose it if something interrupts my train of thought. It helps to count each out-and-back as a "lap", the smaller number confuses my poor aging brain a little less. Although I gather in swimming a lap is actually considered to be one length. Tried the Sportcount thing, hated having it on - I don't like anything around my wrists and hands.