Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Swim Your Way to Health
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-08-2016
dinesh016

Question Is swimming better than going gym?

Hello everyone this is my first time in this forum and I want to know that Is swimming better than going gym
Old 07-14-2016
Coach

CoachBobM

It depends on what you do in the gym, and also on what your goals are. Swimming is a more efficient form of aerobic exercise (in terms of calories burned per hour) than many of the alternatives. But another important factor is what you enjoy doing.

Bob
Old 08-30-2016
mcarmodii

For sure, had a back operation 8 years ago, and the best thing I did was swim a couple of days a week. Simplest and easiest way to get back into shape.
Old 09-07-2016
Head Coach

terry has disabled reputation

I second what Coach Bob wrote. I do both and feel both are highly beneficial. Especially now: (1) Because I'm 65; and (2) Because I'm being treated for prostate cancer.

Obviously aerobic exercise is the foundation of cardiovascular health, which is the most important. And you can make a sound argument that swimming is the best form of aerobic exercise because it's (i) low impact, (ii) minimizes injury, and (iii) makes the most balanced use of all muscle groups. The last two factors are especially true when you swim the TI Way.

Additionally the American College of Sports Medicine recommends that for optimal health we do 3 sessions per week of aerobic exercise plus 2 sessions per week of resistance training. Resistance training can come in many forms, including many exercises that rely only on body weight and can easily be done at home.