Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-26-2014

drtse
Default Possible TI Swim Speeds

I am curious to know what everyone's average and max TI swim speed per 100m is...particularly those who have been at it for a while and coaches.

Being goal-oriented, I'd like to know what's the range of possiblity. Currently I am only swimming 1:55-2:00/100m on average after about 5 months of self-taught TI training.
Old 09-26-2014

tomoy

Lots of variables. And TI is not really one of them. It shares goals with many "camps" of swimming pedagogy.

I understand the usefulness of gauging where you're at, and how much you can expect to improve. The big variables are: age, height, distance, pool length. I think you've given us a distance of 100M (average).

I can answer: 1:25 max, probably 1:45 average but big variables are 49yrs, 5'11", 25SCY pool, and you mentioned your experience, so I'll kick in 5+ yrs TI, 3 of those self-taught.

Further to TI, I guess it is a variable in a related way, most TI practitioners are looking to swim longer distances, so they might not be targeting 100M as you have here. My 1-mile pace in non-salt, open water without a wetsuit is roughly 2:05 per 100M for instance. Notice all those other variables?

It might be hard to gauge in this format. Clearly we need a nice web-app where everyone's numbers can give us an interactive chart....

Last edited by tomoy : 09-26-2014 at 07:14 PM.
Old 09-26-2014

drtse

Hi tomoy,

Thx for chiming in! You are right...lots of other variables to consider and if others want to include the other data that you provided, it makes it all the more interesting!

For me: Male, 42, 5'10", 171lbs, lean-athletic frame ~11%BF, 25m training pool, non-swimmer up until 5 months ago.