Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-16-2016
cc311206

Default How to improve?

59 years old, started swimming last year. Self taught. Breast stroke. Decided to learn freestyle this May after reading breast stroke may aggravate keen pain.

I was fortunate to stumble across some TI videos on Youtube and was fascinated with the approach. I watched so many TI videos (Terry, Shinji,...), read up on materials and books, and progressed, self taught, from some one who knew nothing about FS, balance, stroke, streamline, .... to where i am today. In the last several months, few days i left the pool excited feeling i had accomplished something, but there were many more days when frustration filled me. Despite that i continued to come back the following days for more beating (smile).

This is how i do today.

https://youtu.be/XCLZAfjDNsg

TI doesn't seem to be popular here in HK, local TI coaches or swimmers are nowhere to be found, so i can't really get feedback from anyone around.

Appreciate coaches and long times TI swimmers on this forum to give me some pointers on what i am doing right most importantly wrong so i can progress onto my goal of perpetual swimming.

I love TI. it has been pushing me to go to the pool almost EVERY day!

CK
Old 09-16-2016

tomoy

Welcome to the TI forum!

Very nice relaxation in the water. Good balance for starters.

I think you can work on taking the pause out of your stroke. When your hand is finished with the underwater stroke, it pauses. Try to keep it moving. If there is any pause it can be when it is fully extended in front of you. You can hold that lead hand as long as possible. As long as you like. But try to keep the stroking hand moving all the way through.

Keep up the good work. It looks like you really enjoy the feeling of the water!
Old 09-16-2016

Zenturtle