Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-03-2017

Tom Pamperin
Default Project: 500m in 7:30

I thought I'd start a thread here tracking recent progress on a rather arbitrary goal I've decided on: to swim 500m in under 7:30 (in a 25m pool). A 500m time trial was a standard Coast Guard test 17 years ago when I first started swimming seriously, so I figured it'd be fun to be swimming faster now than I ever managed then when I was young, training hard, and seriously fit and strong (for me, that is). But I never managed a 500 faster than 8:04 that I remember, and that was in a 25y pool.

I've been swimming TI for 11 years now, all self-coached except one lesson with Coach Dave Cameron, and I'm a FAR better swimmer than I was when I was at my fittest. So, should be a fun project! Also aiming to swim a short non-sprint distance like 500m will be a great way to add speed, something I have not much concentrated on in my TI practice. Then I can put that speed to good use, maybe, in later long OW swims (I did my first 10-mile swim in 2015 and loved it, but swam very slowly and conservatively--finished in 6 hours exactly).

Some recent elbow pain (gone now!) got me focusing on my 2BK, engaging my hips much more. I also feel like I've got a lot more core stability in my stroke than ever before, and just overall feel like lots of good things are happening in my stroke. It's time to start actually training for speed!

So, my first report:

Today finished up two+ weeks of extreme focus on kick and technique, mostly short repeats with plenty of rest for good mental focus to reinforce neural pathways for my new improved kick.