Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-19-2008

subway2
Default How to pull the extended hand?

Hello,
I'm new to swimming and TI, started 2 months ago at the age of 33. I have Easy Freestyle DVD and the Triathlon TI book. I watched the DVD completely but haven't finished reading the book. Now I'm familiar with the TI terminology like sweet spot, lead hand, hidden head, balance, patient hand etc. used in the book and on the DVD.
I finished all the drills a couple of weeks ago and started to apply what I learned to my swimming. This week my shoulders are aching. I found the reason for that: it was my straight arm pulling. To be more clear, while pulling my extended hand my whole arm is as straight as my grandma's walking stick.
I looked up the book and watched the DVD again to find an instruction about pulling, but I didn't see anything. I learned English at the university so maybe my outdated English is the reason not to find a solution in these meterials TI provided.
The quesiton is "Is pulling the extended hand important for TI?",
if yes, how should I do that?.
If no, how can I fix my aching shoulders?

PS. I saw Terry and Shinji pulling their hands in a different way but exactly not in my way.

Thank you all in advance...
Old 12-19-2008

Richardsk