Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-12-2008

FrankJ
Default multiple strokes

Hello,

I have started practicing TI for 3 months, and I am still learning to be comfortable with freestyle. However, I also wanted to practice backstroke and breastroke, to add variety to my swimming and in general because I feel it might be good and fun. I was wondering what experience other TI people have with the right time to integrate new stroke in the routine.

On the one hand, just doing the progression from freestyle drills to whole stroke takes all of the time in my session (and I can go to the pool only 2-3 times a week for 1 hour max). Sometimes, I tried alternating 1 lane freestyle with one lane breastroke or backstroke (or the corresponsing drills), but I feel that it 'breaks the flow', so to speak.

What is your experience with this? Should I wait till I'm very comfortable with freestyle (it might take months ar years)? Any useful hints on how to organise practice for more than 1 style?

Thank you,

Frank
Old 12-12-2008

roates
Default multiple strokes

Hi Frank,
For what it's worth, I started TI over two years ago and for the first six months really only progressed through drill for at least 80% of the time and 'swimming' the remainder doing multiple overswitches, spending alot of time sweet spot breathing. Changing the focus was the key to keeping it interesting - 2 per sessions and certainly no more than 3!
I tried to forget all swimming I'd ever done in the past.
I then did some backstroke drilling and swimming.
This I then combined into Long Axis Combo - 3 strokes Freestyle - rotate - 4 strokes Backstroke- repeat. I covered multiple lengths of the pool doing this, it also made me feel good because I felt I was doing some distance. Its only now that I'm doing some Breaststroke, and still don't really enjoy it.