Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-13-2012

MakoMike
Default Improved by lay off?

I had a rather interesting experience swimming today. The last time I was in the pool was over three months ago. I had been pursuing the TI method for about nine months before an enforced lay off. When I last swam I had the problem that it seems a lot of people have in that I had reached a plateau where 50M was the maximum distance I could go without stopping because I was totally out of breath. I got in a fairly empty pool today and I just swam up and down for well over half an hour without stopping and without being out of breath. It seems that somehow the technique has sunk in by just thinking about it in the meantime. I feel quite elated about this because I was previously thinking that the whole thing was a lost cause.
Mike
Old 06-13-2012

Donal F

Maybe you relaxed a bit because your expectations were lower.
Old 06-13-2012

Zoner

Hi, I agree that being more relaxed has all great side effects in the water. I can attest to this fact when I was swimming many, many pool laps with good results and no exhaustion. Then I jumped into open water for the first time and I was just plain bad and became tired very quickly. I was shocked and really down about this turn of events. But after realizing I was thinking of current and chop, seaweed hanging from my goggles, and the fact I couldn't see the bottom, etc. I decided to jump in the lake as many times as I could to get used to the environment. Every day was a bit easier and not soon after I was swimming just like in the pool, realxed with a clear mind. But I still tell everyone that asks the key to not tiring, in my opinion, without a doubt is getting all that air out each breathing cycle. Getting air in is automatic, but not getting all the air out just causes CO2 buildup. Keep it going. Congrats on your find.
Old 06-14-2012