Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-16-2012

Stevew46
Default Swimming with my eyes closed - and guess what happened!

Had the local 20M pool to myself today for 30 mins and having very recently realised my TI crawl is everything but! thought I'd try a little experiment and try a few lengths with my eyes closed! I'd worked out it takes me about 16 stokes to get from one end to the other ( I can superman glide in 2 :-) ), so set off from dead centre of the pool and guess what happened? Ill reveal what actually happened after your input, as I'd really be interested (as it might help me go some way to solving why I'm not very good at this) to know what should happen if I was swimming well!
Old 12-16-2012
Coach

CoachSuzanne

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevew46 View Post
Had the local 20M pool to myself today for 30 mins and having very recently realised my TI crawl is everything but! thought I'd try a little experiment and try a few lengths with my eyes closed! I'd worked out it takes me about 16 stokes to get from one end to the other ( I can superman glide in 2 :-) ), so set off from dead centre of the pool and guess what happened? Ill reveal what actually happened after your input, as I'd really be interested (as it might help me go some way to solving why I'm not very good at this) to know what should happen if I was swimming well!
my guess is that you hit the side wall before finishing your 8 strokes?
Coach of 5 time USA Triathlon Triathlete of the Year, Kirsten Sass
Steel City Endurance, LTD
Fresh Freestyle

Old 12-16-2012

aquarius

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevew46 View Post
I think it's a good drill to "feel" your stroke and I often do it, but it's very hard to swim straight...
Old 12-16-2012

andyinnorway

It would be funny if you did 25+ strokes looked up and found yourself near the middle of the pool. Funny buy not unusual.