Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-02-2011

redcliffe
Default Throwing an arm

Hi, I've been working through the drills from the book. I'm trying to get some good improvements in 1500m. I spent a huge amount of time on each new drill, but I'm still not totally happy with the feel. The roll in my "new freestyle" is feeling quite exageratted.

Also I've always seemed to have a problem sometimes where I throw my right arm. I don't really notice when doing it, but can correct it when concentrating. I've uploaded a couple of videos to youtube of my practice. I'd appreciate it if someone might be able to have a look and tell me whether it looks ok and what I might need to work on?

Triple Overswitch
New stroke

I've been swimming for four years now, and been working to improve long distance efficiency for a long time before doing TI. Typically I start at about 38-40 strokes per 50, but by the second or third lap I'm back down to 44 or more strokes. Maximum is about 48 when I'm tired at the end of a 1500. My best in a 1500 is just over 21 minutes. Trying to get under 20 and keep that efficiency all the way. Thanks,

David

Last edited by redcliffe : 11-02-2011 at 01:28 PM.
Old 11-02-2011
Banned

Lawrence

What leaps out is that your right arm recovers hand-first rather than elbow-first.
Old 11-02-2011

mjm
Default Elbow and Hand

Red: lots to like in your swimming: nice, horizontal position, feet stay together while kicking and rotating, 16 strokes in about 25 seconds for 25 meters is good. Your 1500 race pace is 21 seconds/25 meters or so.

Hard to tell for sure but it looks like your elbow leads your catch. That means you get no "grip" on the water until your hand in under your shoulder. Try to position you forearm and hand with a high elbow as far out in front as possible and start your catch there.