Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Links and References
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-05-2011

drone
Default fingernail damage - any solutions out there?

Hello all
Like many of you, I spend a lot of time in the pool, which causes ... considerable chipping and splitting (de-laminating) of my fingernails. Has anybody else encountered this problem? Any solutions would be most appreciated.
Old 02-05-2011

boken

Mine too. I noticed that they've gotten much more apt to break since I picked up swimming a year ago. My skin is drier too. I don't have a silver bullet but here's what I do: I shower off with soap right after I get out. I use an actual soap (no detergents like sodium laurel sulfate) that is very easy on my skin with repeat uses. I started painting my toenails and it seems to have insulated them a bit from the effects. I have not tried that with my fingernails. That might be a little harder for the guys in the culture that I'm in but I bet it could be done sneakily. A clear-coat polish is nicely transparent but high-sheen glossy and a dead give-away -- but maybe if you dulled the finish with a soft file it would look natural.
Old 02-05-2011

borate

Quote:
Originally Posted by drone View Post
Like many of you, I spend a lot of time in the pool, which causes ... considerable chipping and splitting (de-laminating) of my fingernails. Has anybody else encountered this problem?
A constant annoyance. Here's what hooked-on-nails.com has to say...

"Brittle Nails are characterized by a vertical splitting or separation of the nail plate layers at the distal (free) edge of the nail plate.