Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-17-2016
kirill

Default Evaluation for rag doll + mail slot recovery

Dear TI swimmers! Greetings from Brussels, Belgium and happy 2016 to all of you!
This is my first post on this forum.

I started practicing TI end of 2015 and while progressing thru "Ultra-efficient freestyle" workbook I'd like to ask your opinion on my recovery during the whole stroke.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2H6Rx_lRv8

I would very much appreciate your comments.

One of my concerns is my feeling of "mail slot" does not match the video (i.e. it does not look like a mail slot.) It looks from video I am reaching too far before dropping arm into water ?

Thank you,
Kirill.
Old 01-17-2016

Zenturtle

welcome in the world of overthinkers ,-)

I think your recovery looks very relaxed and symmetric. Looks really like a marionette arm if thats what you aiming for.
The entry is a little flat, but thats very easy to change. letting it in a bit earlier and its like Shinjis.
I wouldnt worry too much about it and first look at your underwaterfootage if you need a deeper spear.
Old 01-18-2016
Coach

CoachBobM

Your stroke looks very relaxed and balanced!

In addition to what Zenturtle mentioned, I'd also point out that your left arm seems to be spearing a little to the left of your railroad track, though your right arm seems to be going in on track.

Bob
Old 01-20-2016
Head Coach

terry has disabled reputation

Kirill
I concur with Zenturtle and Coach Bob. Overall relaxation is great. Rag Doll Arm looks especially good. Left arm seems to enter a bit wide.
Your stroke is ready for prime time.
Would be interesting to see how your stroke looks at brisker pace. Try filming two lengths on which you swim the fastest pace you can--without noise or splash.

How did you manage to get an entire peaceful pool to yourself in a bustling city like Brussels?