Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Favorite Practices and Sets
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-11-2012

ScottMT
Default How to keep track of practices and results?

I'm just starting out with a Tempo trainer and getting more focussed on interval training and trying to develop speed and fitness after a couple of years of just drilling and relaxed swimming. I find myself in need of some organization and recordkeeping tools as I forget everything between the locker room and the pool and vice versa. What do folks use for this? Clipboard and grease pencil for swimming and then transfer to a journal?
Old 01-11-2012

jofo

Hi Scott!

I´m on the same page as you are. Looking forward to read some tip further on!
Old 01-11-2012

AWP

Scott,

The underwater slate would work, especially for jotting down marked times quickly. Laminating your favorite practice sets should be safe to bring poolside resting on a kickboard or two (a good use for those things).
In time you'll be so focused your mind will be a steel trap and you may not need anything. I do however have a 'file' of TI literature and practices in my swim bag and brief myself before hitting the pool.
In most cases I can recall most of my practice down to the length and repeat, in most cases. I jot down my experience at the kitchen table afterwards during my meal or enjoying a cold libation.
Old 01-11-2012

dshen

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottMT View Post
I'm just starting out with a Tempo trainer and getting more focussed on interval training and trying to develop speed and fitness after a couple of years of just drilling and relaxed swimming. I find myself in need of some organization and recordkeeping tools as I forget everything between the locker room and the pool and vice versa. What do folks use for this? Clipboard and grease pencil for swimming and then transfer to a journal?