Total Immersion Forums

Total Immersion Forums (http://www.totalimmersion.net/forum/index.php)
-   Freestyle (http://www.totalimmersion.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Starting Points (http://www.totalimmersion.net/forum/showthread.php?t=2441)

stancil 06-21-2011 07:53 PM

Starting Points

For all intents and purposes, I'm a newbie to TI; I bought and used a copy of the 1996 book back in '03, but never made it all that far. Two questions:

(1) Where do I start now with respect to self-coaching? It seems a bit of the terminology and many of the training philosophies have changed. What should I buy (given that a $15 book is a lot easier to justify than a $50 DVD).

(2) How do I get a good days' workout in early on in my TI experience? I can only realistically swim 1.5 hours, 2 days/week at the local University pool, and my only exercise those days has to be in the pool -- I can't supplement with running or anything else on those days.

Thanks in advance!

Paul

dzhou01 06-21-2011 11:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stancil (Post 20301)
For all intents and purposes, I'm a newbie to TI; I bought and used a copy of the 1996 book back in '03, but never made it all that far. Two questions:

(1) Where do I start now with respect to self-coaching? It seems a bit of the terminology and many of the training philosophies have changed. What should I buy (given that a $15 book is a lot easier to justify than a $50 DVD).

(2) How do I get a good days' workout in early on in my TI experience? I can only realistically swim 1.5 hours, 2 days/week at the local University pool, and my only exercise those days has to be in the pool -- I can't supplement with running or anything else on those days.

Thanks in advance!

Paul

Hi Paul,

You can get the 10 lessons perpetual motion DVD for $30+ at Amazon. It helped me a lot.

I think 1.5 hours, 2 days/week is good enough. As long as you keep doing it, you should see results within 3 months.

Good luck!