Total Immersion Forums

Total Immersion Forums (http://www.totalimmersion.net/forum/index.php)
-   Swim Your Way to Health (http://www.totalimmersion.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Swimming is aggravating my sciatica (http://www.totalimmersion.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7081)

freddastare 03-01-2014 12:01 AM

Swimming is aggravating my sciatica

I hope someone can help me out. I've been doing TI for about 20 years and swimming is absolutely esssential to my well-being. I developed sciatica a few years ago and lately it's really been acting up. Swimming--especially the crawl and backstroke--causes shooting pain. The biggest problem seems to be rotation. If I don't rotate, I can control the pain to a certain extent. But that certainly cramps my well-learned style.

The pain goes away after I stretch and I'm almost tempted to just swim with the pain--that's how much swimming means to me. I'd rather be in pain than stop swimming.

Has Anyone else ever had or heard of this problem?

I'd greatly appreciate any help.

bx 03-01-2014 06:22 PM

Wow, you must have been there at the start of TI! Do you swim the "old" TI stroke with quite a lot of body roll, or have you modified it to swim with 30 - 45 degs of roll?

Maybe your hips and shoulders aren't rotating together. If you're putting a twist in your spine and you have a degenerating disc, this could cause sciatica?

Better see a doctor though to find the cause... good luck.

craigcurtin 03-02-2014 12:12 AM

Hmm, Sounds like a core strength issue

Quote:

Originally Posted by freddastare (Post 45473)